The current version of LIBEMOD has 30 model countries; EU 27 (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden) and Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.

In addition there is demand for some goods in Algeria, Belarus, Russia, Ukraine, YU (consists of the countries of former Yugoslavia) and ROW (an aggregate of the remaining countries of the world). In an extension of the model Russia is included as a model country (see menu on the left).

Fossil fuels (coal, oil, natural gas) and biomass are traded in annual markets, whereas electricity is traded in two seasonal markets (summer and winter). Each season consists of two periods (day and night). The winter season is from 1st October to 31st March, whereas the summer season is from 1st April to 30th September. Day is defined as from 08.00 am to 08.00 pm, and night from 08.00 pm to 08.00 am.